One more question, do you know what happens if you run a divine shield minion into something. Since the minion takes 0 , would the guy take 0 damage / would the divine sheild pop?
The damage gets redirected before the Divine Shield gets hit. So Shellfighter takes full damage.
the hell happens if you have two next to each other
Each minion can only redirect once. If you have a bunch of them all next to each other, each one can only trigger once.
If you have 5 lined up and you cast it on the middle one (#3), it will go to either #2 or #4, which will redirect down the line to #1 or #5, depending on the direction.
Yes, changes came about as a result of this card. I tested Bolf + Zilliax + Auchenai and it only affects Bolf now. /u/jdurica may be able to provide better details on this. :)
the hell happens if you have two next to each other
Here are the full rules for damage redirection effects:
Damage redirection effects always consider the current damage destination and not the initial damage destination.
Ex: If a player has multiple Bolf Ramshields in play and takes face damage only one Bolf Ramshield will trigger and take the damage.
Damage redirection effects can chain, but each power can only redirect damage once per damage sequence.
Ex: If a player has a Bolf Ramshield adjacent to a Snapjaw Shellfighter and takes face damage, Bolf will trigger, and then Snapjaw will trigger taking the damage.
Ex: If a player has two Snapjaw Shellfighters adjacent to each other and one Snapjaw takes damage, the adjacent Snapjaw will trigger, and then the original Snapjaw will trigger taking the damage.
Damage redirection effects should occur before damage modification effects.
Ex: If a player has a Cursed Blade equipped and a Bolf Ramshield in play and takes face damage, Bolf should trigger and take the original amount of damage. Cursed Blade will not double the damage because it didn’t end up hitting face.
Like any other trigger, redirection effects are resolved in ascending timestamp order. In other words, if damage is dealt to a minion that is located between two Snapjaw Shellfighters, the Snapjaw that was summoned first will take the damage. As an extreme example, if I Flamestrike a board of 7 Snapjaw Shellfighters that have been summoned in ascending order from left-to-right the Snapjaw on the far left will take 6 hits, and the Snapjaw on the far right will take 1 hit.
How does this work with divine shield? If we have two snapjaws next to each other, say snapjaw 1 has divine shield and gets hit. Does snapjaw 2 redirect the damage, or does it not matter because of the shield?
Now let’s say snapjaw 2 has the divineshield, and snapjaw 1 gets hit. Snapjaw 2 redirects the damage, but takes 0 due to the shield. Does snapjaw 1 redirect again?
Divine Shield works by zeroing out the damage amount when damage is applied. Damage isn't applied until all damage redirection effects resolve. Essentially, Divine Shield does not affect when/how Snapjaw Shellfighter triggers.
Liv
Yup!
Liv
It takes damage from both adjacent minions and saves them. :)
Liv
The damage gets redirected before the Divine Shield gets hit. So Shellfighter takes full damage.
Liv
Each minion can only redirect once. If you have a bunch of them all next to each other, each one can only trigger once.
If you have 5 lined up and you cast it on the middle one (#3), it will go to either #2 or #4, which will redirect down the line to #1 or #5, depending on the direction.
Liv
Yes, changes came about as a result of this card. I tested Bolf + Zilliax + Auchenai and it only affects Bolf now. /u/jdurica may be able to provide better details on this. :)
Liv
Each instance of damage is handled individually, so they'd follow the same rules as above. Usually, it just ends up roasting the ones on the end.
Josh Durica
Here are the full rules for damage redirection effects:
Damage redirection effects always consider the current damage destination and not the initial damage destination.
Ex: If a player has multiple Bolf Ramshields in play and takes face damage only one Bolf Ramshield will trigger and take the damage.
Damage redirection effects can chain, but each power can only redirect damage once per damage sequence.
Ex: If a player has a Bolf Ramshield adjacent to a Snapjaw Shellfighter and takes face damage, Bolf will trigger, and then Snapjaw will trigger taking the damage.
Ex: If a player has two Snapjaw Shellfighters adjacent to each other and one Snapjaw takes damage, the adjacent Snapjaw will trigger, and then the original Snapjaw will trigger taking the damage.
Damage redirection effects should occur before damage modification effects.
Ex: If a player has a Cursed Blade equipped and a Bolf Ramshield in play and takes face damage, Bolf should trigger and take the original amount of damage. Cursed Blade will not double the damage because it didn’t end up hitting face.
Like any other trigger, redirection effects are resolved in ascending timestamp order. In other words, if damage is dealt to a minion that is located between two Snapjaw Shellfighters, the Snapjaw that was summoned first will take the damage. As an extreme example, if I Flamestrike a board of 7 Snapjaw Shellfighters that have been summoned in ascending order from left-to-right the Snapjaw on the far left will take 6 hits, and the Snapjaw on the far right will take 1 hit.
Josh Durica
Divine Shield works by zeroing out the damage amount when damage is applied. Damage isn't applied until all damage redirection effects resolve. Essentially, Divine Shield does not affect when/how Snapjaw Shellfighter triggers.
Josh Durica
My description is correct. Snapjaw Shellfighter will trigger based on timestamp order.
Liv
I believe those are typically summoned in from left to right. Same event, but one of them does technically get summoned before the other.
Liv
That'd be some clever flavor text. ;D