Bluetracker

Tracks Blizzard employees across various accounts.


New Priest Rare Spell: Mass Hysteria!


  • Liv

    Posted 7 years, 1 month ago (Source)

    Any idea how minions that died during the spell are affected? If minion b is attacked and killed by minion a, does minion b attack minion a? Can minion c attack minion b if a killed b?

    I assume not, but we've had similar weird interactions before (dead minions still counting as alive during some spell resolution).

    Edit: to be clear, my hypothetical situation is as follows:

    a attacks b and b dies. That's one round of attacks, where a attacks. If b were alive, it would now perform an attack, either on a or c. But since b is dead, does the attack still occur?

    B does not attack if it is already dead.

  • Liv

    Posted 7 years, 1 month ago (Source)

    What's the order?

    Random! :D

  • Liv

    Posted 7 years, 1 month ago (Source)

    Then B isn't a valid target for C either as it's already dead, right?

    Correct. Minions won't attack dead minions.

  • Liv

    Posted 7 years, 1 month ago (Source)

    Does death processing happen after the spell resolves, or after each death?

    That is, if minion B dies after minion A kills it, can the death of minion C, maybe dark cultist, save B?

    If yes, does this make B eligible to attack now?

    Deaths and Deathrattles are evaluated after Mass Hysteria has resolved. So that wouldn't save it.

    Attack triggers and Overkill can still occur during Mass Hysteria. So Ironhide Direhorn can create a 5/5, which can be attacked (but not attack since it wasn't there at the start of the spell).

    So if you have something like Crazed Worshipper buffing a fatally wounded C'thun, that can save it.

  • Liv

    Posted 7 years, 1 month ago (Source)

    my favorite

    Beetleberries?

  • Liv

    Posted 7 years, 1 month ago (Source)

    Doesn’t this go against normal phase resolution rules? It’s an effect that resolves “simultaneously” so death shouldn’t be checked until the full effect is resolved, right? Like when you have simultaneous deathrattles that do damage to a 1HP acolyte of pain, all three of them will deal damage to it so you draw three cards instead of it dying after it takes 1 damage.

    Am I misunderstanding how this interaction timing should work? Is it like spreading plague where a single effect (a minion is forced to attack another random minion) is recast/repeated over and over for each minion that hasn’t attacked?

    Just trying to wrap my head around the mechanics. Given what you said, the way it would make sense to me is that minions with 0HP would still be on the board for the purposes of taking full board damage (such as unstable ghoul or wild pyromancer), but they are removed from the target list for random target effects (like mad bomber, volcano, and c’thun). So they could still take damage if an effect hits them (like for example if a cave hydra randomly attacks a minion next to them), but the same mechanism that removes them from the random target list also removes them the list of valid attackers even though they are still on the board. Is that how it works?

    Edit: sorry if my wording is confusing. I’ll break down my understanding of it based on what you said. Can you correct me if I’m wrong?

    -Minion A attack minion B and puts minion B at 0HP
    -Minion B is still on the board at 0 HP which removes it from the random target list which also removes it from the list of valid attackers.
    -Minion B will thus get skipped over because it was removed from list of valid attackers.
    -Minion C attacks another random target, repeat until all minions that were on board when the spell started and are above 0HP have attacked.
    -If in the previous step an effect would damage minion B such as if a cave hydra attacked an adjacent minion, minion B would still take damage and would still resolve and damage triggers (like if it was an acolyte of pain).
    -Death state is checked and deathrattles trigger

    Is this how it works? If so, I’m curious how it interacts with that new minion that takes damage for adjacent minions. Would it continue to take damage for adjacent minions even after it gets to 0 health?

    Ultimately, the rule is the same as Supercollider - if the minion is dead, it can't be forced to attack.

    Deathrattles don't trigger until after Mass Hysteria ends.

    Here's the basic steps:

    Get a list of all minions on the board.

    Pick each randomly

    If it's alive, force it to attack a random minion that is also still alive.

  • Liv

    Posted 7 years, 1 month ago (Source)

    Thanks for the clarification! It’s ways simpler than I had in mind.

    I figured supercollider was different since it’s basically an trigger that happens after you attack which would trigger after death state is checked and resolved. I figured that since death states aren’t checked until the end that the rules would be different.

    Was I right that a minion can still receive damage from cave hydra even after it would have been killed in the middle of the spell? Or are killed minions actually removed from the board in the middle of the spell?

    Yeah, if Cave Hydra attacks a minion adjacent to an already dead Acolyte of Pain, it'll trigger AoP's effect.

  • Liv

    Posted 7 years, 1 month ago (Source)

    That's what I'm wondering. Attacks caused by effects have been known to vary. As far as I'm aware, Supercollider can compel a frozen minion to attack, but a frozen Kobold Barbarian will not even attempt to. A 0-attack Kobold Barbarian will perform a 0-damage attack, and Boomzooka can force Ancient Watcher to attack. Maybe there are differences between the types of forced attacks, or in the various restrictions on attacking.

    For the matter of minions that have yet to attack, a minion forced to attack by Supercollider and then stolen with Shadow Madness will not be able to attack, while the upcoming card The Beast Within has been stated to not count towards a minion's attack quota.

    If I had to guess, I suspect this card will not count towards the attack quota just for consistency with Beast Within. But forcing frozen minions to attack is a toss up until there's an official statement. Perhaps u/HS_Liv would be willing to clarify?

    Mass Hysteria forces an attack, whether it's Frozen or has "Can't Attack" - just like Super Collider.

    It does not take up their attack for the turn. So if you wanna roll the dice, you could use it like Windfury. A very expensive and risky Windfury.




Tweet