Once a year Blizzard changes things up with our beloved Hearthstone, rotating old card sets to become Wild-only, severely limiting the Standard card pool and making drastic changes to the meta. This can all be a bit confusing, so here's the definitive answer to how set rotations work. Below you will also find historical information on each of the rotations we've seen.

Table of Contents

    Hearthstone Set Rotation Basics

    • Once per year with the release of the first expansion, usually in April, the rotation takes place.
    • In addition to the regular sets that are available for play in Standard, a Core Set of cards is also available. (See Year of the Wolf Core Set)
      • This set contains cards that are available for free to all players.
      • Each year, some cards in the Core Set will be replaced by different ones.
      • Cards in the Core Set are typically from older expansions, though Blizzard sometimes creates brand new cards as well.
      • Any card from an existing set that moves into Core will move back to its original set if it leaves the Core Set in a future year.
    • Standard format, upon rotation, is restricted to sets released in two calendar years. (2022 = sets from 2021 and 2022).
    • The first set of a year also marks the new name of a "Hearthstone Zodiac" year. (Kraken, Mammoth, Raven, Dragon, Phoenix, Gryphon, Hydra, Wolf).

    List of Standard Rotations

    These are all the rotations that Standard has gone through with the most recent showing up first.

    Year of the Pegasus (2023)

    The Year of the Pegasus was officially announced on February 12, 2024 and started on March 19, 2024, with the launch of Whizbang's Workshop.

    Rotating Sets

    New Sets

    Year of the Wolf (2023)

    The Year of the Wolf was officially announced on March 23, 2023 and started on April 11, 2023, with the launch of Festival of Legends.

    Rotating Sets

    New Sets

    Year of the Hydra (2022)

    The Year of the Hydra was officially announced on April 5, 2022 and started on April 12, 2022, with the launch of Voyage to the Sunken City. It concluded with the launch of Festival of Legends on April 11, 2023.

    Rotating Sets

    New Sets

    Year of the Gryphon (2021)

    The Year of the Gryphon ran from April 2021 - 2022. This year introduced a major overhaul into how set rotations worked with the addition of the Core Set. The Core Set replaced the Basic and Classic sets, to keep Hearthstone fresh and exciting with relevant cards. Any cards that were no longer a part of the Core Set were moved into the Legacy set. This also introduced the removal of the Hall of Fame set as it was no longer needed.

    Rotating Sets

    New Sets

    Historical Details

    • This was the first introduction of a Core Set.
    • Cards from Classic and Basic have been moved to the Legacy set if they don't belong to another set.
    • The Hall of Fame was removed from the game. Cards went back to their original sets.

    Year of the Phoenix (2020)

    The Year of the Phoenix ran from April 7, 2020 to March 30, 2021.

    Rotating Sets

    New Sets

    Year of the Dragon (2019)

    The Year of the Dragon ran from April 9, 2019 to April 7, 2020.

    Rotating Sets

    New Sets

    Year of the Raven (2018)

    The Year of the Raven ran from April 12, 2018 - April 9, 2019.

    Rotating Sets

    New Sets

    Year of the Mammoth (2017)

    The Year of the Mammoth ran from April 6, 2017 - April 12, 2018. This rotation introduced the concept of the Hall of Fame where certain cards were removed from the Classic set so they could no longer influence the Standard meta.

    Rotating Sets

    New Sets

    Year of the Kraken (2016)

    The Year of the Kraken ran from April 26, 2016 to April 6, 2017. This was the first set rotation that happened in Hearthstone's history.

    Rotating Sets

    New Sets

    Standard arrived with the launch off Whispers of the Old Gods, the first expansion of the Year of the Kraken.

    Curse of Naxxramas, and Goblins vs Gnomes cards became Wild only.

    Additionally, promotional and reward cards were moved to a new set dubbed the Hall of Fame:

    Captain's Parrot Card ImageElite Tauren Chieftain Card ImageGelbin Mekkatorque Card ImageOld Murk-Eye Card Image

    This year started with the release of Journey to Un'Goro. Blackrock Mountain, The Grand Tournament, and League of Explorers became Wild only.

    Additionally, these cards were moved to Hall of Fame:

     Conceal Card ImageIce Lance Card ImagePower Overwhelming Card Image

    Azure Drake Card ImageRagnaros the Firelord Card ImageSylvanas Windrunner Card Image

    This year started with the release of The Witchwood. Whispers of the Old Gods, One Night in Karazhan, and Mean Streets of Gadgetzan became Wild only.

    Additionally, these cards were moved to the Hall of Fame:

    Ice Block Card ImageColdlight Oracle Card ImageMolten Giant Card Image

    This year started with the release of Rise of Shadows. Journey to Un'Goro, Knights of the Frozen Throne, and Kobolds and Catacombs became Wild only.

    Additionally, these Classic cards were moved to the Hall of Fame:

    Naturalize Card ImageDoomguard Card ImageDivine Favor Card Image

    For the first time ever, some cards from a newer set were also removed from Standard:

    Baku the Mooneater Card ImageGenn Greymane Card ImageBlack Cat Card Image

    Murkspark Eel Card ImageGloom Stag Card ImageGlitter Moth Card Image

    For another first, two Basic cards were sent to the Hall of Fame and replaced as well:

    Mind Blast Card ImageVanish Card Image

    They were replaced with these cards, which will always remain in Standard:

    Plaguebringer Card ImageRadiance Card Image

    This year started with the release of Ashes of Outland. The Witchwood, The Boomsday Project, and Rastakhan's Rumble became Wild only.

    Additionally, Classic Priest and neutral cards were moved to the Hall of Fame. Many of these cards had been staples since the release of the game, including:

    Acolyte of Pain Card ImageSpellbreaker Card ImageMind Control Tech Card ImageMountain Giant Card ImageLeeroy Jenkins Card Image

    The Priest class received some changes, and several of its original cards joined the Hall of Fame as well:

    Auchenai Soulpriest Card ImageHoly Fire Card ImageShadowform Card Image

    Prophet Velen Card ImageDivine Spirit Card ImageNorthshire Cleric Card Image

    In order to maintain the same number of class cards available, some new replacements were released which will always be playable in Standard:

    Psychic Conjurer Card ImagePower Infusion Card ImageKul Tiran Chaplain Card Image

    Scarlet Subjugator Card ImageShadow Word: Ruin Card ImageNatalie Seline Card Image